Ellarslie Open 36 – Accepted Art

Posted in Current Exhibits, Exhibits

Dallas Piotrowski, Winter in the Pines

Ellarslie Open 36
Juried Exhibit

On Display
May 4, 2019 – July 7, 2019

Opening Receptions

Friday, May 3, 2019, 6-8:30 pm
VIP Night, Announcement of Awards at 7 pm

$15 at the door

Saturday, May 4, 2019 6 – 8:30 pm

General Public

New Jersey’s Premier Annual Juried Show
Over the years, the Ellarslie Open has become a significant exhibition, drawing from the work of professional artists while encouraging and recognizing the work of emerging artists. Today, the Ellarslie Open serves as New Jersey’s premier annual juried exhibit, with acceptance into the show being highly coveted.  the 36th annual Ellarslie Open broke all records for submissions in 2019, with 520 pieces submitted by 281 artists from the Delaware Valley and beyond. Nearly one hundred artists were first time applicants to the show. From the wide array of work by so many talented artists, the juror Liz Kelton Sheehan created an exhibition unlike any previous show, with a strong contemporary graphic component contrasted by more abstract works and highly-detailed still lifes.
Liz Kelton Sheehan, Juror
Independent Curator

Liz Kelton Sheehan is an educator and independent curator of contemporary art with particular interests in public, interactive, and interdisciplinary projects. A resident of Bucks County, PA, she holds degrees in art history and museum studies from Bowdoin College and Tufts University, and has over 15 years of experience working with museums and organizations in the Mid-Atlantic and New England regions. Since moving to the area six years ago, Sheehan has curated exhibitions for the Hunterdon Art Museum, Clinton, NJ; the James A. Michener Art Museum, Doylestown, PA; and the Hicks Art Gallery at Bucks County Community College. In addition, she is the co-organizer of the Lambertville-New Hope PechaKucha series, which she started in 2015 to provide a forum for the creative communities on both sides of the Delaware.


Opening Receptions
Friday, May 3, 2019, 6-8:30 pm
VIP Night, Announcement of Awards at 7 pm
Tickets: $15 at the door.

Saturday, May 4, 2019 6 – 8:30 pm – General Public

Gallery Talk
Sunday May 19, 2019, 2 pm
Award winners discuss their work with the public

Breakfast with the Judge
Saturday, June 15, 2019, 10 – 12

Exhibition closes
Pick up of artwork with receipt
Sunday, July 7, 2019, at close of show 4 – 6 pm only
Wednesday, July 10, 2019 – Saturday, July 13, noon – 4 pm

Accepted Works:

First Last Title
Bobbie Adams Looking East
Brigitte Aflalo-Calderon Composition in Pink
Kathleen Amon Pele (Hawaiian goddess of Fire)
Sherri Andrews Woman in the Flow
Nicole Backlund Acorn
Bob Barish Johnson Ferry House
Joy Barth Blossom
Constance Bassett Vacancy, Room with a View
Sheryl Bassman Waffle House Kenric
Mic Boekelmann Pop
April Ann Bohmler Gascony Castle
Beatrice Bork Pedestal
Gail Bracegridle Studio View
Chee Bravo Subway Performers-Barcelona
Bill Brookover Spherical Aberration #4
Ness Brosseau Arcturus
Raymond Brown Creekside Nixon Park
Jean Burdick Mirror Lake Road-Winter
David Cann Bad Knee
Sean Carney State Line #2
Jeanne Chesterton Glimmering Glass
Larry Chestnut Tomatoes in My Garden
Thomas Chiola Snowy Mount
Sue Chiu A Trio of Raku Vases
Jonathan Conner Heel Flip Stevie
Marilynn Cowgill Bow Knot (Transparency/Room Divider)
Kate Leigh Cutter All Alone
Dorie Dahlberg Inmigracion: Window With A Bullet Hole
Laurel Daunis-Allen Reid Rocks
Ingrid Davis Village with Yellow Ski
Susanne Pitak Davis Make Way for the Bird
Norman Disbrow Times Square
Carole Doer Allen Long Ago; Far Away
Joanne Donnelly Four Square
Anne Elliott In the Kitchen
Sue Ann Erickson Karora
Lisa Falkenstern Boater
Jeffrey Filbert Mother & Child
Cassaundra Flor Aeolian Cityscape
John P. Foster Out of Place
Eric Fowler Baltimore Garage
Karen Francazio Sanders Firmament 3, Diptych
Judith Friedman Light Through Glass
Laura Friesel Geometric
F Richard Gerster The Giant
Joseph Gilchrist Praise Waiteth for Thee
Rebecca Graham Why Do We Call it the Cardinal Rule
Diane Greenberg Terra Goddess of Earth
Hulya Guler Morning Ritual
Kenneth Hess United Nations, Manhattan
Lynne Hoffman Barn, VI
Richard Hoffman Indoor Winter Escape
William B Hogan Dancing Mystical Flowers
Joyce Inderbitzin Daffodils
Bill Jersey Morning Light #8
Ronald Kalmeijer Mother Nature
Joe Kazimierczyk Firmly Rooted
Armor Keller Firebird
Joanna Krasnansky Pink House Cape May
Richard Lennox Outpost
Ryan Lilienthal Around the Clock
Yimeng Ling Eternal Beauty 2
Eleni Litt Night Beach
Susan Luty Deco Echo 2
Carol Magner Nurturing 2
Helene Mazur Dreaming
Barbara McDougall Passion
Michael McFadden Rain on Water
Richard Merrill Sightseeing
Margie Milne Portrait of Gabrielle
Mark Moscarello Urbanscape II
Michael Neuhaus Post-Frost Joint Weed
Caryn Newman Splash Glaze Porcelain Jar
Elizabeth Oberman Under the Angel
George Olexa, Jr Whimsey
David Orban The Work Party: the Red Truck in Blue
Linda Osborne Early Spring Flowers
Stanford Overton Tavertine terraces
Heather Palecek Cotton Candy Skies
Deborah Pey Morning Light
Dallas Piotrowski Winter in the Pines
Debbie Pisacreta Autumn Red
Aurelle Purdy Sprout Before the Storm
Sue Ann Rainey Magenta Water Lily
Libby Ramage Googoo Doll
Libby Ramage Party People
Ivar Raphael Branch Vase
Nancy Reese Two Leaves
Bruce Riley Wishing Well
John Russo, Jr. Time
Louis Russomanno Sounds from the Alley
Carla Sakson Sunrise
Robert Sakson International
Carol Sanzalone A Wash of Petals
Donnas Schaeffer Dream Factory
Marc Schimsky Uncertainty
Kathy Schroeher Rocky Maine Coast
Everett Scott The Luncheon Party
Scott Speer Scott The Sartorial Man
Elizabeth Scully Ice Scream Spoon
Patrick Seufert Dual Extension
Deirdre Sheean Number 45
Madelaine Shellaby Mother’s Garden
C.a. Shofed Delltog
Siriom Singh Heaven’s Gate
John Slavin Doylestown, Pa
Jennie Smith ICU
Martha Sterling Up County Early Spring
Robert Sussna Church and Union
Jas Szygiel Homestead
Karen Terry Fall Foliage
Ann B. Thomas Summer Pond
Sam Tippett Yawn
Jack Turkel Graffiti Grunge
Megan Uhaze Blue Footed Booby
Amelies van Dommelen Broken Fence
Charles David Viera Savoy Schuffle
Dore Vorum Pacific Zen
Andrew Werth Associative Coherence
Valerie S. Williams Best Friends
Ivia Sky Yavelow Alphabet Soup
Ewa Zeller Twilight
Daniel Zimmerman Awestruck
Abby Zoline Red #1